Mojim Lyrics
Mojim Lyrics > Americas singers > Tom Waits( 湯姆威茲 ) > Black Rider

Tom Waits( Thomas Alan Waits )

Album songs
Album Intro
Album list
Singer Intro


【 Black Rider 】【 1993-11-02 】

Album songs:
1.Lucky Day Overture


3.Oily Night (Provided)

4.Russian Dance (Provided)

5.T'ain't No Sin

6.That's The Way

7.The Black Rider

8.The Briar And The Rose

9.The Last Rose Of Summer

Album Intro:

Summoned to Hamburg, Germany, to write music for a live stage production of Robert Wilson's The Black Rider, musical mastermind Waits took to the task at hand with gusto, assembling an eclectic crew of musicians to become 'the pit band [he'd] always dreamed of.' Several years later Waits assembled another 'orchestra' in San Francisco to record many of the songs he'd written for the live production. Those tracks are found here, alongside a few rough gems from sessions in Hamburg. You'll find some musical matter familiar to Waits fans: accordions, carnivals, violas, banjos, the devil (a key figure in The Black Rider), a singing saw, bassoons, and trombones. Waits's many voices tell the rather disjointed story with a variety of musical styling, and the assembled whole is pretty much a sum of its parts (but at least they're interesting parts): a touch of Day of the Dead, a whiff of carny, a nod to Brecht, a dash of film noir, and the scent of narcosis (William Burroughs makes an appearance here). Not easy listening, by any means, but a feast for the ears. --Lorry Fleming

1. Lucky Day Overture
2. The Black Rider
3. November
4. Just The Right Bullets
5. Black Box Theme
6. 'Tain't No Sin
7. Flash Pan Hunter/Intro
8. That's The Way
9. The Briar And The Rose
10. Russian Dance
11. Gospel Train/Orchestra
12. I'll Shoot The Moon
13. Flash Pan Hunter
14. Crossroads
15. Gospel Train
16. Interlude
17. Oily Night
18. Lucky Day
19. The Last Rose Of The Summer
20. Carnival